27 Nov 2015: Pasifika Whānau Ora Award Winners announced

The winners of this year’s Pasifika Whānau Ora Awards have been revealed at the 2nd annual Whānau Ora Conference Dinner on Wednesday evening at Te Wharewaka o Poneke, hosted by the Minister for Pacific Peoples, Hon Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga.

At the event held in Wellington, individuals, providers and partners of Whānau Ora from all sectors were recognised for their outstanding contribution to the Pasifika Whānau Ora work.

The Awards celebrate, recognise and reward Pacific individuals and organisations who have contributed something new and of significant value to the Whānau Ora service delivery.

The inaugural Pasifika Whānau Ora Awards were characterised by innovative thinking and whānau focus.

Mrs Debbie Sorensen, Pasifika Futures chief executive says the awards recognise that, without the efforts and dedication of Whānau Ora providers, partners, funders and sponsors the Pacific Whānau Ora work would not have been possible.

The Pacific Whānau Ora Awards recipients for 2015 are:

Whānau Ora Leading Provider Award
K’aute Pasifika Services

Outstanding Innovation Achiever of the Year
Cook Islands Development Agency New Zealand (CIDANZ)

Whānau Ora Achievement Award
Rangi Michelle Potoru

Emerging Innovation Award
Vaka Tautua

“We are passionate about recognising and rewarding the efforts of individuals and our partner organisations and celebrating the outstanding contributions many have made to ensure better outcomes for our Pacific families in New Zealand”, says Mrs Sorensen.

The Awards demonstrate the success in ensuring the Pacific Whānau Ora work will continue to focus on achieving positive outcomes for vulnerable Pasifika families across New Zealand.

For more information contact Angie Enoka, Communications Manager on 021 809 137 or angie@pasifikafutures.co.nz

Issued: 27 November 2015